瞭解您的

鑽石

Sarine Profile > Guide to Diamonds > White vs. Colored Diamonds

鑽石指南

純白鑽石還是彩色鑽石

白鑽是婚戒的經典之選。但如今彩鑽越來越受人們歡迎。從華麗粉到明亮藍再到陽光黃,色彩繽紛的彩鑽無疑是您展現真我風采的獨特個性之選。

白鑽與彩鑽

背後的故事

決定鑽石價值和價格的因素非常多。現在,很多人都知道選購鑽石的 4C 標準,即切工、成色、淨度和克拉重量。但這些標準決定的是白鑽的價格,而彩鑽的定價規則與之截然不同。事實上,決定彩鑽價值的因素通常正好與白鑽相反。
對於白鑽而言,顏色越透明純淨,明亮度和閃光度就越好,其價值就越高。而對於彩鑽而言,色彩深度是其價值的決定因素。

在價格方面,彩鑽通常比白鑽更昂貴。但這也不能一概而論。如果彩鑽的顏色不夠深,其價值可能不及尺寸更小但沒有瑕疵的白鑽。出產量較高的彩鑽價格也較低,例如黃鑽或棕鑽。直到最近,棕鑽都主要為其它行業所用,因為人們認為它們的價值「不配」作為珠寶。如今,棕鑽更名為巧克力鑽,經過重新包裝後逐漸流行起來。

當然,鑽石也是以稀為貴,彩鑽的稀缺性也決定了其價值要高於白鑽。相對而言,白鑽更容易獲得,而彩鑽在形成時期需要有化學元素滲入,因此數量要少得多。儘管黃鑽和棕鑽較為常見,但其他顏色的彩鑽則非常稀缺。最稀缺和最昂貴的彩鑽非紅鑽莫屬,緊隨其後的是粉鑽、藍鑽和綠鑽,這些都是鑽石中的珍品。

粉鑽的主要產地是西澳大利亞的阿蓋爾鑽石礦。人們預計到 2020 年,這裡的鑽石將被開採殆盡。單是這個因素便足以推動粉鑽的稀缺性和價格一路攀升。目前,粉鑽的價格比品質最上乘的白鑽(內部完美無瑕,色彩等級最高)還要高出 1150 倍。

彩鑽相對於白鑽的一大優勢是,它們呈現出的獨特感不像白鑽那樣閃耀高調,而又能完美顯露出佩戴者的個性和風采。同時,彩鑽能夠更好地隱藏內部瑕疵。白鑽會因內部瑕疵而降低身價,但彩鑽不會。彩鑽的顏色是永久性的,因而「終其一生」都不會顯露出內部瑕疵。

最後,時尚和潮流也會影響鑽石的價值。儘管由於傳統原因,白鑽的主流地位無可撼動,但彩鑽在當下也變得越來越流行,這主要歸功於好萊塢的時尚潮人。無論是本·阿弗萊克送給珍妮弗·洛佩茲的粉鑽婚戒、時尚大咖派瑞絲·希爾頓佩戴的黃鑽婚戒,還是凱莉·安德伍佩戴的淡黃鑽婚戒,都給人們留下了非常深刻的印象。由於深受名流青睞,彩鑽身價也節節攀升。事實上,全球最著名的兩顆鑽石「蒂芙尼傳奇黃鑽」和「希望之心藍鑽」均是彩鑽。

那麼,彩鑽和白鑽之爭誰是贏家呢?儘管根據稀缺性和當下的時尚潮流來看,彩鑽要更勝一籌,但傳統文化、整體可獲得性及購買便利性等因素也讓白鑽不失優勢。

Know your

DIAMOND

Sarine Profile > Guide to Diamonds > White vs. Colored Diamonds

GUIDE TO DIAMONDS

MAKE THE CHOICE BETWEEN PURE WHITE DIAMONDS AND A RAINBOW OF FANCY COLORS

White diamonds are the classic option for diamond engagement rings. But today, fancy colored diamonds are growing in popularity. From gorgeous pink, to bright blue and sunshine yellow, fancy colored diamonds are definitely a unique and personal choice that reflects your true personality.

WHITE VS COLORED DIAMONDS

The Inside Story

There are so many factors that go into the worth and price tag of a diamond. By now, most people know about the 4Cs of diamond buying: Cut, Color, Clarity and Carat. But while these determine the price of a white diamond, colored diamonds have a completely different set of rules. In fact, the general determination of worth in colored diamonds is quite the opposite of white diamonds.
For white diamonds, lack of color equals maximum brilliance and shine, raising its monetary value. For colored diamonds, the depth of color is the determining factor when it comes to value.

When it comes to pricing, in general, fancy colored diamonds are more expensive than white. However, this is not a hard and fast rule. Colored diamonds that don't have a strong depth of color may be worth less that a smaller white diamond with no imperfections. The same is true of colored diamonds that are more commonly mined, such as yellow or brown. Until recently, brown diamonds were used primarily in other industries, as they were not deemed ‘worthy' of jewelry. Currently, brown diamonds, renamed and rebranded as chocolate diamonds, are increasing in popularity.

Of course, the rarity of a stone will also play a huge part in determining its value, and here again, colored stones, as a whole, win out. White diamonds can be found relatively easily in comparison, but colored diamonds, which are created when chemicals penetrate the diamonds during formation, are much harder to come by. But while the yellow and brown are relatively common, other colors can be much harder to come by. The rarest and most valuable diamond colors are pinks, blues and greens, with red topping the list as the absolute rarest of any diamond.

Pink diamonds, which come primarily from the Argyle diamond mine in Western Australia, are due to be exhausted by 2020. This factor alone has driven up both their rarity and their price. Currently, they are 1150 times as expensive as the finest white diamond, which is internally flawless and has the highest color rating.

One of the benefits of colored stones as opposed to white stones is that they present a level of uniqueness that is not as prominent as a white stone, letting individuals express their individuality and style. The color also hides inclusions better, so while a white stone with inclusions loses value, a colored one will not. And as the color is permanent, the inclusions can remain hidden through the entire life of the diamond.

Finally, fashion and trends make a difference to a stone’s values. While white diamonds will always remain popular due to tradition, colored stones are currently in vogue, thanks in large part to major trendsetters in the Hollywood scene. Nobody will forget Jennifer Lopez’s pink diamond engagement ring from Ben Affleck, fashionista Paris Hilton’s yellow engagement stone, or Carrie Underwood’s canary engagement ring. Thanks to an obsession with celebrities, the spotlight on colored diamonds has also driven up their price. And in fact, two of the most famous diamonds in the world are colored diamonds: the yellow Tiffany Diamond and the brilliant blue Hope Diamond.

So which diamond is the winner in the war of colored versus white? White rarity and current fashion dictate colored diamonds as the winner, tradition, overall availability and ease of purchase may just give the white a small edge.