钻石

恒久远

1967 1946 1942 1953 1948 1960 1938
Sarine Profile > Legacy > The history of diamond

传承

钻石:历史悠久 美名传世

千百年来,钻石一直是人类生活的一部分。在整个人类社会中,钻石都有着重要的象征意义和神秘的魅力。从 20 世纪开始,钻石在西方文明中成为婚姻和浪漫的象征。

钻石的历史

据一份梵文史料记载,钻石最早是在公元前 320-296 年发现的。从那时开始直至今日,钻石一直是人类在地球上发现的最坚硬的物质。希腊人发现钻石后,将其命名为“adamas”,意为“无坚不摧”。希腊人和罗马人认为钻石能够保护并赋予他们神奇的力量,因此在征战时会佩戴钻石作为护身符。

人们普遍认为印度是钻石文化内涵的发源地,这种宝石在这里被赋予艺术和科学的意义。大约诞生于公元 500 年的印度古籍《Ratnapariska》(宝石的知识)介绍了哪些氏族和教派允许佩戴各种颜色的钻石。在后来的欧洲历史中,钻石被赋予崇高的价值,只有君主帝王才能佩戴。

钻石自 13 世纪开始进入欧洲,首先传入的是威尼斯,钻石切割工艺在这里蓬勃发展起来。后来,钻石贸易扩展到欧洲其他地方,尤其是在伯吉斯和巴黎。到 13 世纪末,第一份钻石切割指南在德国纽伦堡诞生。由于钻石极度稀缺,法国国王路易斯九世下令只有国王才能佩戴钻石。但这项法令的效果并不持久,在 14 世纪时期,贵族男女的珠宝首饰中开始出现钻石。

1477 年,奥地利大公爵马克西米兰赠予未婚妻勃艮第玛丽一枚钻石订婚戒指。这是钻石戒指首次被用作订婚戒指。但遗憾的是,素来挥金如土的大公爵竟因购买这颗稀世钻戒而负债累累。这也反映出钻石在当时是多么昂贵,只有王公贵族才能购买和使用。

直到 17 世纪,富商大贾才开始佩戴钻石。

在 18 世纪,钻石的普及度进一步提高。今时今日,人们可以随时佩戴镶嵌着大颗钻石的珠宝,尤其是订婚戒指。而在 18 世纪,白天佩戴钻石被认为是一种无比庸俗的行为。在当时的人们看来,钻石当配晚礼服。

19 世纪是一个分水岭,当时,钻石已不再是皇家贵族的专属,而是更多地“飞入寻常百姓家”。这是 19 世纪中期钻石供应量开始大规模增长的结果。1866 年,在南非霍普敦附近的奥伦治河畔,一位名叫 Erasmus Jacobs 的年轻男子捡到一块石头。他起初以为这只是一块鹅卵石,但仔细看后发现这竟是一颗重达 21.5 克拉的钻石。几年之后,人们又在 Colesberg Kojpe 发现了一颗重达 835 克拉的巨型钻石。钻石勘探者迅速慕名而至,并在这里开发了金伯利钻石矿,这是全球首座大型钻石矿。

大约 20 年后,法国王冠珠宝廉价出售,其中的大多数珠宝都被纽约 Tiffany & Co 公司收入囊中,此举激发了美国市场的钻石需求。

虽然如今普罗大众也能购买钻石,但钻石却有着悠久的奢华历史。这是一段凝聚着财富与高贵的历史。这无疑是钻石至今依然如此炙手可热的原因之一。

资料来源:

Diamonds are

EVERMORE

1967 1946 1942 1953 1948 1960 1938
Sarine Profile > Legacy > The history of diamond

LEGACY

DIAMONDS HAVE A LONG AND BEAUTIFUL HISTORY

The diamond has been a part of the human story for thousands of years. All over the world, the diamond has held symbolic significance and a mystical appeal. It is only in the 20th century in Western civilization that the diamond has become synonymous with marriage and romance.

History of Diamonds

It is documented in a Sanskrit manuscript that the first diamonds were discovered around 320-296 BC. Diamond was then, and remains today, the hardest substance on earth known to man. When the Greeks discovered the stones, they named them “adamas” which means “invincible”. The Greeks and Romans wore diamonds on necklaces as talismans during battle as they thought the diamonds had magical protective and strengthening powers.

India is widely regarded as the cradle of the diamond’s cultural significance, both in the art and science of the precious gemstone. In approximately 500 AD in India, the Ratnapariska, the ancient Indian text, “Knowledge of Gems” outlines which sects are allowed to wear various diamond colors. In later European history, diamonds were highly prized, and only monarchy was allowed to wear them.

In the 13th century, diamonds began to make their way to Europe, first to Venice where diamond cutting developed in earnest. Later, diamonds were traded across Europe, specifically in Burges and Paris. and by the late 13th century the first Diamond Cutter’s Guild was formed in Nurnberg, Germany. However, because the jewel was so rare, Louis IX of France decreed that diamonds were for the king only. This did not last very long, as  diamonds began appearing on the jewelry of both male and female aristocrats during the 14th century.

In 1477 Archduke Maximilian of Austria gave his fiance, Mary of Burgundy, a diamond engagement ring. This was the first time a diamond engagement ring was used as a betrothal ring. Unfortunately the Archduke had a penchant for spending too much, and purchases such as rare diamond jewelry helped land him in debt. This also shows how expensive diamonds were and the fact that they were only bought and used by rich aristocrats.

It was not until the 17th century that diamonds were worn by the wealthier merchant class.

Diamonds were commonly used even more in the 18th century. While today, jewelry with large diamonds can be worn any time, especially in engagement rings, in the 18th century it was considered incredibly vulgar to wear diamonds during the day. They were reserved for eveningwear.

The 1800s were the turning point when diamonds were no longer just for royalty and became more available to the masses. This is due to the massive increase in supply that happened in the mid-19th century. In 1866, near the Orange River near Hopetown, South Africa, a young man by the name of Erasmus Jacobs came across what he thought was just a pebble and when it was looked at more closely was actually a 21.5-carat diamond. A few years later, a giant 835-carat deposit was found in Colesberg Kojpe. Diamond prospectors quickly came to the area and opened the Kimberly Mine, which was the world’s first large diamond mine.

Some 20 years later, the French crown jewels were sold off, with the majority purchased by Tiffany &. Co in New York, bringing a demand for diamonds to the United States.

While sold to the mainstream today, diamonds have a long and regal history. A history of opulence and grandeur. This is surely one of the reasons why diamonds are so desirable even in contemporary times.

Source: